The fourth annual Stephen Lloyd Awards are now open for entries, inviting applications from early-stage innovative projects focused on delivering real systemic social change in a sustainable manner. Entrants have an eight week application window which closes on Friday 6 April 2018.

Providing emerging innovations with the vital encouragement innovators need to cultivate their ideas and spread their impact, the Awards reflect the vision of the late Stephen Lloyd, former Senior Partner of Bates Wells Braithwaite. Through the invaluable support of their funders and pro bono partners, the Awards have helped accelerate social change by working alongside numerous projects they have championed.

Start-up enterprises or social entrepreneurs with a unique and scalable approach to solving some of the topical and challenging issues affecting society today are invited to present their ideas.

Winners will receive funding of up to £20,000, along with extensive pro bono support from experts in the social enterprise sector, who are committed to creating a positive impact on society in a long-term and sustainable way. Shortlisted applicants will also be awarded up to £2,000 to further develop their project, and may also benefit from similar pro bono expertise.

Guidelines and details for submitting an application can be found here: All application entries should be emailed to [email protected] for the attention of Mona Rahman.

Phillip Kirkpatrick, Deputy Managing Partner at Bates Wells Braithwaite and one of the founding members of the Stephen Lloyd Awards Committee, said: “Helping early-stage social innovations achieve real sustainable change is what the Awards are about. Over the last three years we have seen our past winners gradually transform their brilliant ideas into delivering valuable social impact, whilst achieving national and international success.”

For more information visit: 

About Stephen Lloyd Awards

Stephen Lloyd Awards was established in memory of renowned charity and social enterprise lawyer, Stephen Lloyd, who died in August 2014. They reflect his commitment to finding and supporting innovative ways of achieving social change. Winners are democratically selected by the entire community of charity and social enterprise experts who support the awards. That community includes philanthropists, social investors, lawyers, accountants, governance and management specialists and many others. Winners will also receive valuable pro bono support from that communit